All Students

Greetings everyone I hope the semester or quarter is off and running for you. Last week I wrote about new challenges for a new academic year. I hope you all were able to enjoy last week’s knowledge post. This week I will focus on the “unwritten assignments” in an academic classroom. At the beginning of each semester, professors provide students with a syllabus which outlines the “requirements” for the course. What are not mentioned in that syllabus are the unwritten assignments. I have known professors to create some of their power-point slides based off of the “supplemental readings.” Due to the fact that the syllabus at times reads supplemental readings, students look at those readings as possibly irrelevant because they are not mentioned in the required readings. I always caution students to pay attention to the supplemental readings, and also the handouts that are provided from professors.

In addition to the supplemental readings, you have to be very careful with the loose definitions that some professors use with “participation.” For instance, I have known professors to have a flat 10 points for participation, but it does not clarify how to earn those points. I always caution students that if you have read the assignment for that week’s class, to be sure to participate by answering questions in the class. This shows the professor that you are actively participating, and likewise earning the hidden participation points. In addition to speaking in class, also playing your part when working with your classmates on group assignments, you are also earning the points. Too often students do not pay attention to the hidden assignments in their classes, they assume that everything is written down, or said by the professor. That is not always the case, I would like for my readers here to be informed and not roll with the assumption that all class assignments are spoken.

Below are some things to be on the lookout for regarding unwritten assignments:

  • Pay attention to supplemental readings
  • Pay attention to participation points
  • Show up to group meetings
  • Bring your text books to class

I hope the above points can help you as you navigate your semester and pay attention to the unwritten assignments on the syllabus. In the event that you need to contact me feel free to email me at gemotivatedtofinishs@wordpress.com

 

Take Care,

 

Dr. Quintin Boston, LPC, CRC